Rise of the Planet of the Apes…

…or simply Rise of the Apes as it was originally called (sounds way appropriate too) was, holy shit, amazing.

I knew it was going to be this special, Summer movie that’s gonna generate a lot of good buzz (i.e. a sleeper hit) the moment I saw the last 2 trailers, particularly the theatrical and international ones, which I liked a lot. I was right, and my Twitter feed was quickly filled with positive “ROTPOTA” remarks days before the opening. Impressive movie indeed but, in all honesty, I was not expecting it to be that impressive.

It’s definitely on par with First Class, and even Abrams’ Star Trek and Batman Begins in terms of reboots. Yes, I’m going that far even though I’ve only seen it once since that sounded a wee bit too mighty. But it’s definitely a solid reboot that even guys who aren’t enthusiastically familiar with the franchise (hi there!) will enjoy it greatly.

Sure, there are some problems like some of the human characters and certain questionable stuff, but they’re hardly noticeable. Speaking of the humans; it was fun to see Tom Felton (y’know– Draco Malfoy) playing a doucher version of, err, Draco Malfoy. Pretty fittingly I should say. But you know what made this movie so good aside from the narrative, themes and surprises? Andy Serkis.

You’ve probably heard of this guy (Gollum, King Kong, Enslaved’s Monkey and Heavenly Swor– no, fuck Heavenly Sword); he was fucking phenomenal in this movie. This man needs, Jesus Christ, an Oscar already for portraying memorable CG characters, and his Caesar? It’s surely the best he has ever done. I know it’s a long shot, but I would be extremely happy if the Academy recognizes his work on this movie. Sooo fucking good.

Anyway– I had a blast with “of the of the” and I hope YOU, my friends, would give it a shot as soon as possible. It’s a genuine sleeper hit that deserves recognition. Watch it or be part of the problem, it’s that good. Fuck yes I just said that and it’s been a while, actually, since First Class. Again, watch it!

2 responses to “Rise of the Planet of the Apes…

  1. Good Review! This is that rare summer movie that has brains and emotion in addition to the spectacle. It is also such a great film that it makes us forget about the 2001 piece of junk that Tim Burton tried to do but actually failed. Check out my review when you can!

    • Did, and good job! Thanks 🙂 And yep, it’s one of those rare Summer movies indeed. In fact it’s one of my favorites this season next to First Class, Super 8, HP7.2, Cap and Thor.

Leave a comment