Quick impressions on the shows I mentioned 32 days ago

I actually have this mind-crushing headache that has been going on for nearly 24 hours as of this time. In fact, I can imagine a bunch of dwarves mining for this crazy artifact inside my head for some reason, or something along those lines.

Anyway, yes, these impressions are going to be really quick and short. If not then I, umm, apologize in advance:

Guilty Crown: The ‘mo protagonist can be annoying initially. But, luckily, the story is interesting (despite the Code Geass-like premise), it has some cool characters — both heroes and baddies — and the animation’s fucking incredible for the most part.

Persona 4 The Animation: Loving it, even though the animation feels like drippings compared to Guilty Crown’s tenderloin. But then again that’s because I’m a huge fan of the game, and that’s what this is, really, in most cases: a fan service. I honestly cannot speak for the guys who haven’t played P4. It may not resonate with them the same way it’s doing to a bunch of Shin Megami Tensei worshippers, like yours truly here.

Un-Go: Strong opening and ending songs (not to mention the music generally), but it started off really bland with its formulaic story arcs. That is until the recent episode (#4) where things are finally starting to bloom, and the “world” is getting clearer. I’m still not that officially hooked… though hey, I really like the opening song by SFP a lot. A lot.

Last Exile – Fam, the Silver Wing: The juvenile protagonists are a bunch of annoying little twats and the oh-so-colorful hues are bleeding my corneas. It definitely feels like a “moe” take on the series compared to the original’s Nausicaa/Harlock-esque tone. I know — the “moe” thingy was sort of expected, but I wasn’t expecting it to be that ridiculous. Still, there are some neat moments which is why I’m (yes) still going to be watching this weekly. Plus there’s going to be some stuff linking to the original series and that, alone, is a good reason why I should stick around.

Gundam AGE: I stopped after watching the 2nd episode because (a) “I think I know where this is going” and (b) I’d rather wait for the “AGE” where things are going to get gritty and the hero will actually curse and be fucking badass… which, I’m pretty sure, isn’t going to happen anytime soon. It has potential, no doubt about that, to be this great Gundam series. But right now it’s looking more of a gateway for kids to the Gundam franchise, unless of course I’m wrong at this point since I only saw 2 episodes. The opening (by Galileo Galilei and not that Galileo Galilei) was catchy in case you’re curious.

*image c/o Tumblr*

Leave a Reply

