Whee, Sony announces the PlayStation Tablet…

…or whatever they’re calling it. Here’s what Engadget reported:

…a pair of Android 3.0 tablets. The first is the 9.4-inch S1 media tablet (aka, Qriocity focused) with a curved top much like a folded magazine and both front- and rear-facing cameras. The S1 features a Tegra 2 SoC and customized “Quick and Smooth” touch panel UI with “Swift” web browser. It can also be used as a remote control for Sony gear thanks to integrated infrared.

The second tablet is the dual-screen S2 clamshell with its pair of 5.5-inch 1,024 x 480 pixel displays, Tegra 2 SoC, and camera. While it sounds bulky, Kunimasa Suzuki just pulled the hinged tablet from his jacket pocket on stage. Sony takes advantage of the two screens with a custom book-style UI layout for its e-reader app, email (keyboard on one display with your messages on the other), and others. Both the S1 and S2 are PlayStation Certified and are WiFi and 3G/4G “compatible” according to Sony. See the Sony tablets codenamed “S1” and “S2” in action after the break on their way to a global release in the fall — possibly sooner in the US.

Who gives a fuck. Big hairy deal. Whatever. “Move along… move along”.

Seriously though –and this is just me– but why should I purchase this thing? What’s the point? It has the word PlayStation right? So I’m assuming one of the target consumers would be somebody like me; the typical gamer. But there’s nothing about it, based on the specs, that makes me want to save up for it. So I find this gizmo-gadget simply… unnecessary (to me again) because I’d rather get an iPad 2 for my tablet-y needs. If not the inevitable iPhone 5 since I’m not really that interested with tablets in the first place. As for the PlayStation on-the-go or emulation or whathaveyou: there’s my PSP duh and eventually (super-later on in the future) the NGP.

“So whatever man”

Leave a comment