HBO’s A Game Of Thrones episode one…

…is pretty and I really enjoyed it.

The aesthetics and production are definitely spectacular in my opinion, and I simply just love how it looks overall. Now you must know that I have NOT read the book or any of the A Song of Fire and Ice novels. The reason why I gave it a viewing was frankly because of the hype surrounding it by various sites (*ahem*ToplessRobot*ahem*). Not to mention that some of my good friends (the Fivers) are fans and have been telling me how amazing the series is. Plus, of course, the board game which I used to play with them back in the day.

There’s also the fact that I’ve been craving for a show or series that’s similar-ish to Yasumi Matsuno’s fantasy-epic games namely The War of the Lions and Let Us Cling Together…

Therefore I cannot really comment on the casting and the nods to the original material. I’m not even entirely sure if this mini-series was made for guys like me given that I still have some questions as to who’s-who. A personal thing really, but a character map would be handy if I can find one soon. Admittedly there’s a lot of talking going around with this episode. Though it’s hardly a problem if you think about it since, doi you know, it’s the “first episode”. But yes, again, I liked the pilot a lot being a noob of George R.R. Martin’s fantasy novels, and I can’t wait to see more! The opening credits gave me the chills for some reason:

–//–

So… that’s 1 mini-series to keep an eye on along with 2 new anime shows. Time’s gonna run faster these days then… I hope.

Leave a Reply

